Dinner last night was homemade French Onion soup with homemade baguettes. It was delicious and well worth the effort of making it from scratch. While I was at it, I made some more sandwich rolls for lunches.

_DSC0018-imp

Lunch rolls all ready for tomorrow.

_DSC0008-imp

The onions, about 8 cups of them, thinly sliced sauteed for a nice long time to get a beautiful golden brown and form the base of the soup.

_DSC0016-imp

 

The baguettes right from the oven. These were thinly sliced and popped into the toaster to crisp them up to use as the croutons. Of course, had I prepared better, I could have made the bread a day or two earlier and let the slices crisp up without the use of the toaster. Alas, I am not that prepared.

_DSC0020-imp

 

The soup bowls are getting assembled and prepped for some broiling.

 

_DSC0022-imp

 

The finished product …. was …. delicious.

Enhanced by Zemanta