jpeg-image-6e4dc5a1c5ca-1Tom’s grandmother used to make chocolate pudding for us. I remember the first time I had it, it was different. It had nuts in it. Turns out that it was My-T-Fine pudding with nuts. Tiny little chopped nuts inside chocolate pudding. In the years since, I had found it a few times and made it, bringing back sweet (no pun intended) memories of a special lady. Then we couldn’t find it. I am not even sure that it is even made anymore.

This afternoon, we set about to rectify that and make our own version.

First, I made the chocolate pudding with some delicious dutch process cocoa we nabbed down at the Brattleboro Co-op when we were down there last night for dinner after a closing I had in the area. Then, while the pudding was cooking, I chopped up slivered almonds into tiny pieces and added them to the cooked pudding. jpeg-image-6e4dc5a1c5ca-7

The pudding went into the fridge and we had it for dessert just a little while ago. It was delicious.

Pudding recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 c. dutch process cocoa
  • 1/4 c. cornstarch
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 4 cups milk
  • 2 T. butter (unsalted)
  • 2 t. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped almonds

Mix the first four ingredients together in a heavy bottomed pot. Add the 4 cups of milk (we used Lactaid skim milk so my husband could enjoy it with any intestinal issues).

Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until it comes to a boil. Then stir constantly for two minutes more.

Remove from heat and add 2 T. butter (I used unsalted) and 2 t. vanilla extract.

Then I stirred in the chopped almonds, about 1/2 cup’s worth.

Put them into the fridge for at least two hours to set and form that great chocolate pudding “skin”.

This made six ramekins of pudding.

 

