Today is my dad’s birthday.

While he’s no longer with us, and hasn’t been for a while, his presence is felt everyday. It’s the little things, remembering something that we did together, or how he was such a kids himself, particularly when it came to Christmas and presents or some story that someone tells. He loved having fun and I sometimes catch a glimpse of him in my own boys and it makes me smile. I used to give him a ride back and forth to work and honestly, it was a nice part of my day when I was still living at home and he was working. It was just the two of us and he was always happy to hear about what I had planned or what had happened. It was, in some respects, our time. I miss it and I miss him. No one can ever fill the hole that is left when someone who was a part of you and your life passes away.

I so wish he were still here. He would be so very, very proud of his grandchildren and how his family has blossomed.

Happy Birthday Daddy – We love you and we miss you!

dad1

 

dad2

 

