It’s a very rainy day here. The weather is just plain old WRONG. It is the middle of January and while I don’t necessarily like the idea of a January thaw – I can accept it. What I cannot accept is the fact that it is pouring outside. Normally, the sound of rain tapping on the roof of my office is comforting but today it is just plain annoying. The day has been dreary and dark, the rain has been falling, the radar looks all green and gross. As you can see, I have nothing particularly uplifting to say, so I thought I would share some photos of our house that were very kindly given to us by a woman who lived here for a summer while she was a nursing student in the 1970s.

It was very nice of her to lend me her photo album to scan these pictures. We have a little bit of the history of the house, which always intrigues us. Who lived here before us? What parts of the house existed at that time and what did they look like?

Centerville house 7

The view from the front of the house is pretty much the same.

Centerville house 8

I love the sign that says “Sugar Hill” on the front of the house……

Centerville house 10

This is a picture of the “facilities” surprisingly, they were out of doors still in the 1970s.

Centerville house 11 Centerville house 12

For those of you familiar with our house now, this is how it looked before the addition of the den and garage which were put on sometime between this picture and when we purchased it.

Centerville house 1

Water was pumped in the kitchen.Centerville house 2

Centerville house 3

Centerville house 4

Centerville house 6

