English: Illustrations ornament Heart (Coeur) ...

English: Illustrations ornament Heart (Coeur) in the colour of pink (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sometimes it’s important to remember how lucky you are. Of course, when tragedy strikes, either close to home or close enough to your heart, we all take stock and remember to count off the things for which we are thankful. We shouldn’t need tragedy, our own or someone else’s, to remind us of our good fortune. No matter how down we might get, there is always, always, always something for which we are grateful. Some days and trust me, I have had them, it is simply that you are upright and breathing. Other days, it is something more intangible, like the golden bonds of a dear friendship. We don’t always realize that as we make our way through this life, we are not just navigating around and through and over hurdles and phases and good things. We are weaving our own web of people, places and things that have touched our lives. Through the years, I am very lucky to have spun some very precious webs of friendship, heart strings connecting hearts that aren’t located as physically close to each other as they once were — some are located hundreds of miles away. Those strings, though, they are precious and connect our past with our present and wind gently into our future.

This morning I was very fortunate to be reminded of those wonderful heart strings. A random text yesterday afternoon alerted me that my very, very dear friend was on the brink of a new chapter in her life. Her daughter-in-law and son were in labor with their first child and her first grandchild. Despite our distance, I was there with her in spirit and prayers that all went well and her new granddaughter would make a very normal entry into this world. Around 2:30 this morning my phone went off again to alert me to the fact that the little beauty had made her grand entrance along with a picture of the cutest little bundle of joy. I love that I have friends so dear to my heart that they would see fit to share such wonderful news almost instantaneously with me. It is a reminder of how blessed and lucky I am. Welcome to this world little Brooke! May you be blessed with a lifetime of wonderful friends to journey with you!

Congratulations to our dear friends Ellen and John! 

IMG_1331I know you will make as wonderful grandparents as you are parents and friends. 

 

