Eighteen years ago today, my world changed drastically and permanently. I woke, a little earlier than 6 a.m. and went to the bathroom. Nothing unusual about that since most very very pregnant women do that multiple times a day. On this particular morning though, my water broke and we were off to the hospital to bring our first child into the world- whether we were ready for it or not. The kid that decided he might be ready to take a glimpse at the world about 4 months prior, putting me on bed rest for the remainder of my pregnancy, stuck it out past his due date of March 30th and past April Fool’s Day. He outlasted every other baby in the childbirthing class that I was so confident we would not finish. And, it would seem by the length of labor, that this child was in no particular rush at that point to make his appearance, since he arrived almost sixteen hours later at 9:47 p.m.

tj1As soon as I saw his adorable face, everything that I had felt up to that point and all the pain that I had endured for the previous hours were all gone….a distant memory. It was so very hard to believe that this little human being belonged to us and we created him. We walked into the hospital that morning a very apprehensive couple and would leave 24 hours later, a family. It is so very, very unbelievable that in the blink of an eye (or so it seems) 18 years have flown by and today, that little baby boy is now a grown up young man.

Photo Credit: Trena Bevier

Photo Credit: Trena Bevier

Dearest TJ,

No matter how grown you become, you will always and forever be my baby. You gave me the best gift of all …motherhood –when you came into this world. You made us a family and it has been amazing to watch you grow through all these years and see you become the handsome, witty, intelligent young man that you are today. It is so hard to believe that you are 18 today. I remember the day you were born as if it were yesterday. I know that the future holds wonderful, incredible opportunities for you and you will rise to every occasion that is presented to you in the years to come. You make your father and I very, very proud.

Happy Birthday!

All my love,

Mom

Join me in wishing my very first baby a very, very happy 18th birthday!

