Sometimes, you find yourself amazed at how some little inconsequential thing to you means so much more to someone else. I am often reminded of this when talking to my boys, they will remember some unmemorable event, some simple thing that we once did together or said or laughed about and cling to it. To them, it has significance far beyond the thing itself – it is tied with a memory of some type which has taken root in their brain. Often, we don’t even remember the event, or even the day, we have filed it under inconsequential, unmemorable.

You never know the impact you have on someone or what some little thing that you might have offhandedly forgotten all about might have on someone else. Don’t discount that what you do or didn’t do for someone didn’t matter or was insignificant. Simple innocuous acts can ripple and have effects that you never thought imaginable.

Tonight, we were at a meeting at someone’s house when it was interrupted by a stranger at the person’s door, asking for a ride into town because his vehicle was not able to be driven. While the stranger was unrecognizable to us, we later learned that he was a classmate of one of our boys, a child that we had met only a couple times and who had been over to our house several years for literally two times. Neither was eventful, your typical play date. As I drove home I was struck by the fact that this child, on the verge of adulthood, whom I no longer recognized, immediately recognized us, the parents, calling us by name. It sent chills up my spine that two seemingly insignificant afternoons at my house more than 3 years ago caused this child who I haven’t seen since, to remember us. What had we done that had caused him to immediately recall us? What impact did our severely limited contact with this boy have that he would recognize and recall us after such a long period? Makes you wonder. He was no different than the dozens of kids that have graced our threshold since and was treated no differently. Makes me wonder. What happened on those two visits was evidently enough to trigger a quick and solid recollection when he saw us despite his distress.

When I think back into my own memories, I recall things that may have happened so long ago, but are as clear as if they happened only yesterday. Are those memories,which are so clear still in my mind because of the way I was treated or mistreated, forgotten in someone else’s?

Remember there’s no such thing as a small act of kindness. Every act creates a ripple with no logical end.” ~~Scott Adams

Enhanced by Zemanta
