Neither of these have anything to do with the other really except that the French Onion soup that we ate for dinner tonight was cooking off and on for most of the day yesterday. It was an on-again, off-again  cooking session. I sliced the onions, poached them as I was supposed to do and then turned down the flame to let them slow cook and caramelize. Except that we had to run out and I had to turn them off. Then we were home and on they went again. Then our friend next door returned home from her errands and it was time for our KitchenAid Repair Party at her house. My totally awesome husband ordered the parts to fix my mixer and our friend’s mixer which both stopped working. It was a fun hour or so of mixer repair and reassembly. We both have working mixers again! But, the poor soup, it was put into stasis once again while we were doing that and then back on the flame went. At about 8 o’clock last night I finished making the soup, which really didn’t take long except for our interrupted onion cooking.

We reheated it and had it with homemade baguette croutons and melted mozzarella cheese from the farmer’s markets.  It was well worth the wait.

Enhanced by Zemanta
