You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 4, 2010.

Every year, I definitely think it; most years I also say it — at the very least to myself. Usually however I don’t get to do it. Enjoy the holidays coming up, keep it simple. I usually get caught up in the frenzy of the season and make myself crazy in the process. This year, so much of the last few months has been hectic and crazy and complicated — that I cherish the idea of keeping the holidays simple and enjoying them. It’s usually no joke that I’m sick for Christmas, I usually have a horrible cold or at the very least an annoying one. This is directly and most likely related to the schedule of insanity that precedes the day. I am hoping that by avoiding the insanity, I will also avoid the repercussions of it in the form of some type of illness which makes me miserable but still required to perform all of my wife, mother, daughter, hostess Christmas responsibilities.

As for gifts, it’s very simple. The boys aren’t asking for much or hardly anything, so less stress on what to get them for Christmas. If they don’t seem to want it, I don’t need to go crazy looking for it. Everyone is therefore happy. Me, especially.

I can therefore concentrate on doing some of the things that I would like to do, such as do more baking which also takes the stress off the cookie swaps I am attending (and looking forward to) later in the month and holiday entertaining. The more that I can do now, the less I will have to do later. I am not a good person when stressed, things do not go right. The bad energy extends from my brain through my arms and out my fingertips into whatever I am making/baking or doing. It never comes out well when I stress myself out.

I really want to decorate the house nicely. I want to get our tree up, I am anxious to see how it will look in its new location. I am happy to enjoy it for more than a few days before the holidays. I am really looking forward to this since with all the work we’ve been doing Halloween and Thanksgiving weren’t even decorating worthy holidays around here.

I am looking forward to spending time with family and friends. To enjoying the holiday, enjoying the peace afforded by this time of year and ….Mother Nature if you’re listening….some of the white stuff for atmosphere would just serve to bolster the holiday spirit.

This season I will strive to keep it simple, to enjoy it more and stress less…. and hopefully not be sick for Christmas.

Evilwife on the move

Validated RSS

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 552 other followers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 552 other followers

Licensing information

Copyright Information

© Happenings on the Hill,
https://tammyheff.wordpress.com
2012.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Evilwife and Happenings on the Hill (http://tammyheff.wordpres.com) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

There have to be 5 things even on a really bad day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 552 other followers