You are currently browsing the daily archive for March 9, 2010.

Coming back from Odyssey States is a relief for the kids. They won and while they have work to do, their schedule is open for a breather. For the parents and the coaches however, our work begins. There was a mandatory meeting for the coaches last night and one of the coach/parents and I met this morning to review and pull apart what we did last year and plan this year’s fundraising. Letters, letters and more letters. The pen is mightier than the sword and all that jazz. I absolutely suck at soliciting people in person for money. A salesperson is so not a career choice for me. I would starve to death. I however, don’t mind crafting a letter and filling out forms for donations until my fingers fall off – which by the looks of the work ahead of us, they just might.

Today was filled with filing out donation requests, seeking information about whom to contact about donations at various entities and doing letters and envelopes. Perhaps I should take on the job of grant writer. Seems that what I have been doing isn’t a far cry off.

We need to raise $6000 in order for the kids to attend the worlds. It will come, slowly I am sure in dimes and dollars, but these are the times everyone wishes someone knew a kind spirit that had spare cash to just send in one fell swoop. Alas, that is the stuff of movies and this is reality…..off I go to write more letters.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

I hate waking up in the dark. I just cannot wake myself up, despite a lot of coffee, it just somehow feels wrong. Consequently, this makes it difficult to be “chipper” and wake up the rest of the house. “Yes, I’m an idiot wandering around in the dark, you should arise from your nice warm bed and join me”.

I know people that are disturbed when it’s about 4:30 in the morning during the summer and the sun is shining especially when it shines directly into our bedroom window. I don’t. I wold rather wake up super-early to sun than wake up later in the darkness. Luckily, days are getting longer once again and the sun is just about rising when I get up in the morning to wake up the boys for school. Morning daylight is a good thing.

Evilwife on the move

Validated RSS

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 552 other followers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 552 other followers

Licensing information

Copyright Information

© Happenings on the Hill,
https://tammyheff.wordpress.com
2012.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Evilwife and Happenings on the Hill (http://tammyheff.wordpres.com) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

There have to be 5 things even on a really bad day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 552 other followers