You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 8, 2010.

Lindsey Vonn after winning the Downhill World ...
Image via Wikipedia

This is a big debate surrounding the ski slopes at Whistler where the 2010 Winter Olympic games will kick off in about a month. It is a fairly common practice evidently in competitive skiing events to use water injection. Using this method, water is injected via a tiny nozzle one to two feet below the snow level and freezes. The idea is that it creates a skiing surface that is better able to withstand repetitive skiing over the same area and less than ideal weather conditions. The down side is that many skiers dislike skiing on the water injected surfaces which have been compared to skiing on “pond ice” according to U.S. skier Lindsey Vonn. Vonn evidently suffered injuries after falling on a slalom course which caused her to have to use a sling on her arm.

It is anticipated that the Olympic ski courses, at least those used by the men’s events, may well use the water injection method.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

That’s what I got by mistake at dinner. On Tuesday, our anniversary dinner turned into a bit of a dinner party since a college friend showed up and we then had our neighbors join us as well. We went to Sam’s Steakhouse in Ludlow, VT. I ordered a petite filet mignon and was looking so forward to it. When everyone else was served, the waiter politely advised me that he had erred on my order and he had put in an order for prime rib instead. I could wait for mine to be cooked or take the prime rib and he would adjust the bill accordingly. I thought that I had agreed to wait, but evidently I agreed to take the prime rib instead since it magically appeared a few minutes later with the waiter. It was the largest chunk of meat I have ever seen on a plate intended for one person. Seriously, I could feed my entire family of five on it (and as you will see, so I did). It was about 6 inches across and seriously like 3 inches thick. I sliced off a few pieces but honestly, it just was too overwhelming for me. It was doggy-bagged (and wouldn’t the dog so love to have this 1/2 cow for dinner?) and brought home. I used it to make prime rib soup since that is what we do with our leftover rib roast from Christmas dinner. This hunk of meat was almost as much as what I did the soup with after Christmas so I thought, why not?

It’s a simple recipe, borne of my hatred of wasting food and my family’s hatred of leftover beef in its roast state.

Prime Rib Soup

1. Brown meat in dutch oven. I used my hunk of meat and one sirloin steak (I know, I know, but we are not steak eaters and it comes when you order 1/2 cow) Normally, I would use the rib roast with its bones.

2. Add one chopped onion or two chopped shallots.

3. Deglaze the pan with 1/4 c. red wine.

4. Add 12 cups of water. Add salt and pepper.

5. Allow soup to simmer for at least 1 1/2 hours. (I find the longer the better)

6. Remove meat and cut into bite size pieces. Remove bones if you used a piece of meat with bones.

7. Add two cups of jasmine rice. Let simmer until rice is fully cooked.

8. Serve and enjoy.

Evilwife on the move

Validated RSS

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 552 other followers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 552 other followers

Licensing information

Copyright Information

© Happenings on the Hill,
https://tammyheff.wordpress.com
2012.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Evilwife and Happenings on the Hill (http://tammyheff.wordpres.com) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

There have to be 5 things even on a really bad day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 552 other followers