Anillos de Matrimonio, Aros de Matrimonio

Image via Wikipedia

Marriage is a commitment to life, the best that two people can find and bring out in each other. It offers opportunities for sharing and growth that no other relationship can equal. It is a physical and an emotional joining that is promised for a lifetime.

Within the circle of its love, marriage encompasses all of life’s most important relationships. A wife and a husband are each other’s best friend, confidant, lover, teacher, listener, and critic. And there may come times when one partner is heartbroken or ailing, and the love of the other may resemble the tender caring of a parent or child.

Marriage deepens and enriches every facet of life. Happiness is fuller, memories are fresher, commitment is stronger, even anger is felt more strongly, and passes away more quickly.

Marriage understands and forgives the mistakes life is unable to avoid. It encourages and nurtures new life, new experiences, new ways of expressing a love that is deeper than life.

When two people pledge their love and care for each other in marriage, they create a spirit unique unto themselves which binds them closer than any spoken or written words. Marriage is a promise, a potential made in the hearts of two people who love each other and takes a lifetime to fulfill.

Edmund O’Neill

Marriage is a journey. It is meant to last a lifetime and even beyond. When we sign up, no one promises a bed of roses. In fact, if we remember those vows that we took, there was “in good times and in bad” “in sickness and in health” and something vaguely reminiscent of lifelong “as long as you both shall live”. It is not a competition, nor a race. We never know when the party will be over and our spouse will no longer be there in the morning when we roll over and open our eyes. It is a gift. We should always remember that. The lucky ones are those that are able to share a lifetime together, however long or short it may be.

Eighteen years ago today, a beautiful sunny day for January, I married the man who I considered, and still consider, to be my best friend. He knows me better than anyone and loves me anyway. He is always able to make me laugh, even if I feel like crying. He provides me with strong arms for those times that I do cry and is always there to pick me up, dust me off and help me face the world again. We have seen each other through losing people who we love, a losing a child that we never met and creating three amazing young men who share their father’s sense of humor.

We yell, we fight, we get angry, we are not perfect. (Well, definitely I am not perfect, sometimes, he might think he’s perfect, but I have to remind him otherwise – that’s what I’m here for, isnt’ it?) We’re on a journey, one that I hope lasts for many, many more years, if we are that lucky. Our days are filled with more laughter and smiles than tears and grimaces and for this he earns all the credit. He helps me to remember not to take myself too seriously. And me, well, I cook.

We fit together. We compliment each other.That day, 18 years ago we each were trusted with the kryptonite for the other. We know the button to push, the weak spot, the way to bring the other crying and screaming to their knees. He is my safe haven in a world that sometimes can be cruel, but he is not.

I love him and today I want him to know that I would marry him all over again because I can’t think of anyone else that I want to grow old alongside.

Happy Anniversary, Tom. Love you,

T.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
