Yesterday in line at the supermarket, I saw the oddest thing. The woman on line in front of me had a button on her lapel that said “It’s okay to say Merry Christmas to me”. Odd, I thought. Sad, that one needs to wear a button to let people know that. I personally do not understand the righteous indignation that people have over someone wishing them well. If I wish you a Merry Christmas I am wishing one the joy, peace, serenity and good will of the holiday. My holiday or theirs. The wish is the same. I am not offended if someone would wish me a Happy Hanukah or a Happy Kawanzaa or a Happy St. Patrick’s Day. Does my skin ruffle that they think I am Jewish or African American (they must need glasses for that one since I am one of the whitest of the white, but all the same) or Irish or purple for that matter? I think that people forget it is the thought behind the message, the good wishes, the happiness. The wish is spoken and backed up with the best of intentions and in this world where some people don’t have anything nice to say about anyone, does it truly offend? Would these people that are so outraged and upset be happier with a smile and a go screw yourself? Maybe, who knows. But for me, I will not be upset that you wish for me and my family good things, ever. So go ahead, next time you see me, wish me Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukah, Happy Kwanzaa, Blessed Ramadan, or Shabbat Shalom, I will take your well wishes into my heart and accept them for what they are – good thoughts.

