You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 29, 2009.

first_class_scout_emblemTonight was a night of accomplishments. The boys had Boards of       Review for Scouts. I am proud that they all passed their respective ranks. I am now the proud mama of 2 First Class Scouts and one Tenderfoot Scout. Tim was just too pooped and not feeling well to do the Board for Second Class, although he has all the requirements completed except for his Review. I felt sorry for the poor little guy, he is really miserable with this     cold. He came home and fell into bed.

Well we almost made it. We were less than 24 hours from Tom getting home. I thought we were safe. BUT NO…..she couldn’t do it. She was unable to resist the urge to screw with me. And thus the White Dog broke what I thought was going to be a streak. We made it almost to Tom’s return after being away for the week without a White Dog vs. Tammy incident. But tonight……tonight….well, she outdid herself. 

I made homemade chicken soup for dinner since Tim has a heck of a cold. Quick dinner, simple since we had to be out the door for Scouts. When we returned 2 1/2 hours later, I find my ENTIRE kitchen counter and everything on it smothered in ….. chicken grease. Congealed, goopy, disgusting chicken grease. The measuring cup (only the biggest one I own, no less) was halfway filled with the grease I skimmed off the stock. I left it on the back of the counter since it was still warm and could not obviously go down the sink or into the trash since it was still liquid. Well, the White Dog saw fit to knock over the measuring cup and spill that luscious chicken grease all over my counter, my new kitchen scale, my utensil crocks, everything! I seriously could kill her which is why I am therapeutically writing this post—keeping my hands away from her neck. At 9:30 at night the last thing I really wanted — or needed– to do was to re-clean (mind you I really cleaned the whole kitchen last night) the better part of the kitchen counter, everything on it and the cabinets. I seriously, seriously, God forgive me, despite that animal. I know that my husband loves her but I will be doing the happy, happy dance the day she meets her maker. I have just had it. This on top of the fact that she destroyed the outside edge of the garbage bag trying to get into the garbage while we were gone. Luckily, I put a heavy container on the garbage can — didn’t stop her from gnawing it to shreds though.  I really, really, really am not a happy camper at this moment in time. Cleaning grease from everything was not my idea of a fun evening. White Dog – I liked your predecessor so much better and SHE ate my bed! That’s exactly how much I don’t like you.  ARGHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!

dscn36992Well, there is an awful lot of snow out there, it has drifted into some of the biggest piles which is just plain crazy. My neighbor told me that another storm is coming Monday into Tuesday!  Had to dig a path to the chicken coop since the drift over there was up to my chest. Luckily getting to the goats was easier, the field drifts were only knee-high.

 

dscn3703

 

dscn37051

 

The goats weren’t too fond of all the snow. Seems to have made it difficult to navigate to me.

dscn3707

It was windy as anything last night. The wind was howling and causing the house to creak all night long. Needless to say, it’s impossible to say now how much snow we finally got when it stopped snowing about midnight.  Here are some pictures from this morning though.

dscn3693

dscn3694

Evilwife on the move

Validated RSS

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 552 other followers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 552 other followers

Licensing information

Copyright Information

© Happenings on the Hill,
https://tammyheff.wordpress.com
2012.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Evilwife and Happenings on the Hill (http://tammyheff.wordpres.com) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

There have to be 5 things even on a really bad day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 552 other followers