A word is defined as “A sound or a combination of sounds, or its representation in writing or printing, that symbolizes and communicates a meaning and may consist of a single morpheme or of a combination of morphemes.”~ Free Dictionary

Words have always been a friend of sorts. I enjoy writing and folks often say very kindly to me that it seems words come easy. This morning, however, there were no words to express the depth and breadth of the sadness in my heart when I learned of some very tragic news about someone that holds a very special place in the creation of our family. Words can not communicate the feelings in my very soul and seem so inadequate to express any of the emotions that I feel today.  I cannot imagine the heartbreak, sadness and devastation being felt by this family. Words fail me today.

Christmas candle

Christmas candle (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Life has a very strange way of putting things in perspective. Earlier in the week I was not very happy and feeling a little sorry for myself – Christmas was not particularly turning out to fit the “perfect” I had planned ~ I had no Christmas picture of the family as I had planned, I couldn’t get things to go right and I was disappointed. Those thoughts and any other problems that I may think I have are infinitesimal as we often find out when we learn sad or tragic news about others. The “problems” in life that each of us experience on a daily basis may sometimes seem insurmountable and all encompassing in our own little myopic view of the world. Yet, when they are viewed in conjunction with other’s “problems” our issues pale in comparison and we feel small and so very selfish for feeling sorry for ourselves. Much the same way as standing at the edge of the ocean or staring at the stars in the sky can make us realize how little, petty and inconsequential each of us and our seemingly large “problems” really are in the grand scheme of things.

Thoughts and prayers from my family go out to this family — may they help to bring strength, comfort and understanding in the days, weeks and months ahead.

 

