For my birthday this year Tom offered to take me away. Leave the two boys that are still home alone, a nerve wracking notion, and spend some time just the two of us.
We are here on Block Island, off the coast of Rhode Island for a few days. We left our truck on the other side and departed, just us, our bikes and our backpacks for a few days.
We explored, walked and biked. If anyone would have told me that I would have biked 25 miles in a day and called that a vacation I might have disagreed. It is beautiful, and as was pointed out to me, I am lucky to be able to see the sun both rise and set over the water.
The boys have been great, keeping in touch like they were asked and making the whole thing that much more relaxing and fun.
The weather has been beautiful so far, I get to spend some great alone time with my best friend and relax. A great way to welcome a new decade.

20130926-073143.jpg

