This whole college thing is brand spanking new to us.Since I still have the memories of how hard it was to schedule a college visit last year in August, I thought it best to secure a hotel room for move-in weekend. Who plans this far ahead? 

Last year, we tried to visit a college in New York state and our days magically corresponded to move-in days for the new students so we wound up staying 1/2 hour away because that was the closest we could get to where we wanted to be. Booking a hotel room for a different reason, it occurred to me to ask about the rates for rooms during the move-in weekend in August. Figuring we could work on planning what we were doing. While I didn’t think I needed to book a room in April for August, obviously I was mistaken. Evidently, lots of other people plan well ahead, since most of the hotels were already booked. 

