You are currently browsing the daily archive for June 20, 2012.

It is weird how you remember things and how your mind is triggered. I woke up this morning with an ache in the pit of my stomach. In 2001 this was the very day of the week and date of the month  that I lost my dad. It was sudden and it was very, very sad. If you haven’t lost a parent, I don’t think you can understand how very devastating it is and how very alone you can feel. The person with whom you had a physical and emotional bond and one of the two people responsible for your very existence is gone. My heart still aches when I think of him, which I do every day. I often wonder how things would be different in my life and that of my family had that day simply never happened. I still can’t think about it or my dad without crying. I miss him and I hope that somewhere he knows how much. I would love for a chance to let him see his grandsons and the wonderful young men they are becoming. He would be so proud, I know he would.

 

Fate has a way of making things happen  – turning them around, healing.. Today is the day in 2008 that this date on the calendar was changed from one of the saddest days in my life. As fate would have it, this is the day that the first little girl in our family was born. Fitting that on this date, the day that our family lost an important part of it, is the same day that our family gained another important part. While I will never forget the sad parts about this date, I can look into the beautiful big eyes of my niece and smile.

Happy Birthday Emily! Poppy would be very proud of you, too.

Poor Tom, it wasn’t much of a Father’s Day. We drove kids around, which wasn’t too bad, since we knew we were doing that and we were prepared for it and looking forward to have a few hours to ourselves after we delivered a group of kids to UVM in Burlington.

In between driving kids around, we came home to find that the dog had eaten a loaf of cinnamon raisin bread less the two slices that Tom and Tim had for breakfast. This was not good, especially on top of the two breakfasts that she got. Raisins are toxic to dogs, much like grapes, except since raisins are dried and concentrated, it takes a whole lot less raisins to reach toxic levels. We realized this when we were in Burlington and raced home to see 1)if we still had a dog; and 2) to get her to the vet.

Lo and behold, two days in doggy hospital, a whole lot of intravenous fluids and she is home. It was a very anxiety provoking Father’s Day and a very, very expensive loaf of raisin bread.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

Evilwife on the move

Validated RSS

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

Licensing information

Copyright Information

© Happenings on the Hill,
http://tammyheff.wordpress.com
2012.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Evilwife and Happenings on the Hill (http://tammyheff.wordpres.com) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

There have to be 5 things even on a really bad day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 565 other followers