You are currently browsing the daily archive for April 26, 2012.

So, I have to admit that it feels pretty good to recycle, reuse or repurpose something or to compost our food debris. I must admit that I am not an ultra-super crazy person about it, but it feels much better at least to me, to put my veggie scraps into the compost than in the garbage. I know that they will go out into the compost pile, feed the chickens and do something good in the greater scheme of things. Imagine how much better I felt when I read a post over at 17 Apart about regrowing bok choy. Even better when my husband had just gotten me three bags of baby bok choy from Phat Thai. What timing! What karma!

So, when I chopped off the bases of the bok choy to do my stir fry, I followed their directions and placed my bok choy ends in a dish of water on my plant stand. That was Saturday night. This is today.

 

 

 

 

 

Pretty cool, don’t you think?

Enhanced by Zemanta

I came across this on Food In Jars website  which is a pretty cool website about…well…food in jars. Canning, pickling, storing, preserving… all that need stuff that you feel compelled to do when you live where I live because everyone else is doing the same thing. Marissa over at Food In Jars was talking about a Kickstarter idea that she donated to that came to fruition and it is quite ingenious. It is a BPA-free plastic lid for mason jars that allows you to “shake, pour and store” from your mason jar. The lid is called reCap and it is available for sale here.

It permits you to use your mason jars as a pourer without removing the lid which makes it a much more user friendly drinking container for those who use their mason jars as such or for pouring salad dressings or other liquids out of the mason jar without making a huge mess. Pretty cool, huh? i think I might have to grab a couple of these — according to reCap’s site, if you buy three or more, shipping is free.

Photo: reCap Mason Jars

Evilwife on the move

Validated RSS

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 552 other followers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 552 other followers

Licensing information

Copyright Information

© Happenings on the Hill,
http://tammyheff.wordpress.com
2012.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Evilwife and Happenings on the Hill (http://tammyheff.wordpres.com) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

There have to be 5 things even on a really bad day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 552 other followers