You are currently browsing the daily archive for September 18, 2011.

Fred Ott's Sneeze (film by William K.L. Dickson)

Image via Wikipedia

The boys have been back to school for a little over two weeks. We lasted that long, but I’m pretty sure it’s still a record. Tyler developed a miserable cold pretty much overnight. Tim is falling fast, he has been sneezing his head off tonight and sounds sniffly. As I type this I heard repetitive sneezing coming from the upstairs. Never a good sign.  Tom and I have felt less than great as the day has worn on. We know it is only a matter of time….tick, tock, tick, tock.

When I told the boys that they could get me anything for my birthday, I didn’t mean a cold….but I’m sure that’s what I will have by the time my birthday rolls around at the end of the week.

But I am trying really hard to find the positive side of things….keep a smile on my face and all that jazz. So I’m thinking…….

 

At least it’s not the stomach bug.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Got my first blog post put up on Technorati. Hooray for me!

Check it out.

http://technorati.com/lifestyle/article/vermont-rebounds-following-tropical-storm-irene/

 
B7C5HFM485DV

There are still a plethora of tomatoes in the garden. I have roasted a lot of them. Now I am making crushed tomatoes with them that I am freezing to use later in tomato sauce, stews, soups and the like.

It’s a fairly simple process (which would be a lot simpler if I didn’t have to peel the tomatoes first)

1. Cut an x shaped slit into the bottom of each tomato with a sharp knife.

2. Drop the tomatoes into a pot of boiling water for 1-2 minutes.

3. Remove from water and the skins should peel off with little effort.

You now have a naked tomato.

4. Then quarter the skinned tomatoes and place into food processor.

5. Blend to desired consistency. At this point you can place it in a pot to make sauce as you would with canned crushed tomatoes

Or put in a container to freeze.

 

B7C5HFM485DV

Enhanced by Zemanta

Evilwife on the move

Validated RSS

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 552 other followers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 552 other followers

Licensing information

Copyright Information

© Happenings on the Hill,
http://tammyheff.wordpress.com
2012.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Evilwife and Happenings on the Hill (http://tammyheff.wordpres.com) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

There have to be 5 things even on a really bad day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 552 other followers