You are currently browsing the daily archive for August 14, 2011.

I did something today that I have never, ever done before. I canned peaches. Okay, so it’s not like I cured cancer or something, but for me, this was pretty big. I have ventured into the jam and preserves, but only with berries, not with any other fruit. My friend was kind enough to let me in on a deal for cases of peaches which we picked up the day before we were leaving for vacation. We took a huge bag of them with us and devoured them since they were delicious. When I returned I had an entire shelf of the refrigerator filled with the remainder of the case of peaches – which by the way is quite a lot of peaches.

I am always intrigued by the fact that so many of my friends and neighbors “put up” so many things that somehow  I just never gave much thought to doing myself. Peaches for instance. I would tend to avoid canned peaches during the off season and just gouge on the fresh peaches when they are fresh. But this…well, these are quite good and still have the taste of fresh on them. I am going to use some more of the peaches (oh yes, I still have peaches left over) to make peach preserves which I will use to mix in my yogurt for my very own peach flavored yogurt in the mornings. Yum.

Getting back to the canned peaches — the first step is to peel them which is easily accomplished by cutting an “x” into the bottom of the peaches and quickly dipping them in boiling water and then plunging them into a bowl of cold water with some ice. The skin comes off extremely easily, leaving you with a perfectly naked peach.

Cut the peaches into your choice of size, slices, quarters or halves. I did decent sized slices for mine.

I then did a “cold or raw” pack. This means that you place the fruit into the sterilized quart jars and then pour a simply syrup over it.

The jars get filled to 1/2 inch of the top. The jar rims are cleaned and then the lids placed on. They need to water bath process for 30 minutes plus more for altitude.

Here are the finished products.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Evilwife on the move

Validated RSS

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 564 other followers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 564 other followers

Licensing information

Copyright Information

© Happenings on the Hill,
http://tammyheff.wordpress.com
2012.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Evilwife and Happenings on the Hill (http://tammyheff.wordpres.com) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

There have to be 5 things even on a really bad day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 564 other followers