You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 26, 2011.

As I was driving home tonight by myself in the car, singing along to the radio, I realize how much the words of a song can control your emotions. I write and  while I love to write, I envy songwriters. They are the poets of the musical world. They are able to capture emotion, both good and bad, in a few lines of a song. They grab a snippet of time, freeze it and craft it in such a way that one cannot help but be moved by merely listening to the words.

I wish I possessed the talent to use my words to create such basic, core feelings. I am sure that you know what I mean. A song can conjure up a memory so specific or an emotion so strong that it moves you. A specific song can be a special bond between a couple (for example, a wedding song, a song played on a first date or during a special time in one’s relationship) or place you with a specific person or at a specific time (for example, the song your grandmother lulled you to sleep with in her arms). Music is soothing and emotional  but the words –well the words can add another level, the words are the outpouring of the heart.

Evilwife on the move

Validated RSS

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

Licensing information

Copyright Information

© Happenings on the Hill,
http://tammyheff.wordpress.com
2012.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Evilwife and Happenings on the Hill (http://tammyheff.wordpres.com) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

There have to be 5 things even on a really bad day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 586 other followers