You are currently browsing the daily archive for March 4, 2010.

This week is busy, so busy in fact that we have something going on each night in addition to the usual picking up and dropping off of kids. I was determined though that our dinners were not going to be some fast food disaster on our way here and there. I set out to try to make something in the slow cooker each night, but that didn’t work out as well as planned. The meals didn’t need to be elaborate this week, just better than McDonalds or whatever else the kids would gladly grab if given a choice.

Monday, we had pot roast in the slow cooker over either egg noodles for the kids or brown rice for the adults. Tuesday, here is where I had to resort to the stove, I made chicken soup. I tend to roast the carcass of the chicken roaster that is leftover and simmer that to make the stock and then drain that and make the soup from that.  Not easy to do in the crock pot so I opted for the stock pot instead. It all worked out in the end, and full bellies were had by all.

Today I set out to make sausage and peppers in the crock pot. My idea was to cook it slowly and then serve it over pasta. Unfortunately though Tom is staying away from tomato and tomato products due to gout issues, so adding even tomato paste to the sausage and peppers wasn’t an option. Plus, considering I have kids that don’t like peppers or onions, it was a true problem. I was however anxious to try the hot sausage that we had gotten from the pig that we bought. I wound up making Chicken Sausage Jambalaya which turned out quite well if I do say so myself.

Ingredients:

1/3 c. flour

1/3 c. vegetable oil

1 lb hot sausage

1 lb cut up chicken breast

1 package chopped frozen onion

3 chopped bell peppers

1 package frozen okra

4 cloves garlic, minced

salt

pepper

3 cups water

1. Combine oil and flour and cook over medium heat, stirring until a dark brown roux forms. Remove from heat and cool.

2. Put all other ingredients, chopped and minced into slow cooker together with the salt, pepper and water. Cook on high for 6 -8 hours. I did not add celery since I didn’t have any but you can add 1/2 c of that chopped. I also did not add hot pepper or red chili flakes since I used hot sausage. Feel free to adjust seasonings according to your level of heat tolerance.

Serve over steamed jasmine rice.

Evilwife on the move

Validated RSS

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

Licensing information

Copyright Information

© Happenings on the Hill,
http://tammyheff.wordpress.com
2012.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Evilwife and Happenings on the Hill (http://tammyheff.wordpres.com) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

There have to be 5 things even on a really bad day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 565 other followers