You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And

Oh, the Places You'll Go! 1
Image by ForestForTrees via Flickr

YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”  ~ Dr. Seuss (Oh, the Places You’ll Go!)

Suess Landing at Universal Studios' Islands of...
Image via Wikipedia

Today is the birthday of Dr. Seuss. Theodor Seuss Geisel, one of the world’s best known authors. I don’t know that there are many people who don’t know Dr. Seuss, especially if you have children or were a child at some point yourself. The books are plentiful, the rhymes magnificent, the lessons that they teach worthwhile. Some of my fondest memories with the boys are the hours and hours of reading the same Dr. Seuss books over and over and over again. I can still pretty much repeat Go, Dog, Go one of their favorites from memory and they are teenagers now. The pages on that book were well worn. Our collection of Seuss books was extensive and of course included the favorites Cat in the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham. Recently, about a couple months ago, we were the doctor’s office and my oldest who will be 15 in a few weeks, picked up and read Green Eggs and Ham. Aloud no less in the middle of the doctor’s office with a small girl and her mother sitting near us. When I gave him the look, he just said “You have to read Dr. Seuss out loud”. You know what, I think that he is right. There is something to the melodic rhyme that is soothing and funny all wrapped into one.

I remember when we went to Universal Studios, I don’t remember who was more excited to go to Seussland, me or the boys. The bookstore there was incredible, it was like falling into Seuss heaven. I could still be there, and that was ten years ago.

I think that this is my favorite Dr. Seuss quote:

“You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams.”

March 2nd, Dr. Seuss’ birthday, has been declared Read Across America Day. Pick up a book, today and read.

Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
