You are currently browsing the daily archive for October 5, 2008.

 

YHarvesting

Harvesting

Yesterday, I started to pick potatoes. I filled one milk crate which I guessed by the weight of it (I couldn’t even budge it alone) that it had to be over 50 lbs. I can lift 50 lb. bags of chicken and goat feed, so since I couldn’t even move this without help, it had to be more than that.

I planted Yukon Gold, Russet and blue potatoes as well as some varieties specific to Vermont and more cold hardy. I have three rows of potatoes planted and this yield was approximately the equivalent of one row.

Hopefully, I will get to get out there and harvest some more today. When I was done, I laid them all out on a rack over our large cooler to dry off a bit so I can rub some more of dirt off them before they are stored away. Oh, I also found some small pumpkins and gourds growing in there. Nice surprise.

 

Drying the dirt off potatoes

Drying the dirt off potatoes

The Climbing Tree

The Climbing Tree

Garden View

Garden View

Yesterday, I was in the garden picking potatoes somewhere in the late afternoon. When I looked up, the sun was just in a perfect position to light up the foliage. I thought these were some great pictures of what it looks like from the garden.

While the amount of traffic has definitely increased around here, denoting “leaf peepers” galore, winter is closing in fast. Friday night was the first fire of the season in our woodstove, since the temperatures dipped to freezing and it was a cold night. Killington had snow (showers) which left a dusting on its peak. Yes… old man Winter is closing in fast.

 

Garden view II

Garden view II

Evilwife on the move

Validated RSS

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 587 other followers

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 587 other followers

Licensing information

Copyright Information

© Happenings on the Hill,
http://tammyheff.wordpress.com
2012.
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Evilwife and Happenings on the Hill (http://tammyheff.wordpres.com) with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

There have to be 5 things even on a really bad day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers