Did you know that grey chickens blend in perfectly with seasoned uncut firewood? One of our grey hens was following me across the backyard while I was planting a flower bed. I turned back to the garage to get a shovel and returned only seconds later to find that I couldn’t find the chicken. Why is this alarming you might ask? Well throw into the mix two dogs who would love a chicken lunch and you can understand my concern. I look to my left where the coop is about 25 feet away and no grey chicken. No grey chicken in the lawn, where oh where did my grey chicken go? There she was, right in the middle of the woodpile, happily picking away at whatever insects resided there. Perfect camouflage. Her speckled grey and the mottled greyish brown of the firewood, worked to perfectly prevent me from seeing her.

 

